April 9, 2020

While we are living in a new reality now, staying home and taking pictures of the outside from our windows, let us remember a number of movies filmed in Vienna. Watching them on long spring evenings will bring you some nostalgic moments of visiting this beautiful city. Or a desire to visit Vienna when the lockdown is over.

Prater, Vienna in movie The Living DaylightsOriginal scene from “The Living Daylights”

James Bond – The Living Daylights

This movie was released in 1987 and is the fifteens in the series about James Bond. It features Timothy Dalton as James Bond, Maryam d’Abo as Bond’s love interest, and Vienna as a place where a lot of scenes were shot.

The beginning of the movie features Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia. But in reality all the Bratislavan sequences were shot in Vienna, including Volksoper (People Opera House if translated) and Sofiensäle. By the way, the shots of Sofiensäle back in 1986-1987 bore a certain historical record, since the building burnt down in 2001. It was of course rebuilt but the movie shots remember the building in its authentic way.

Among other locations of the film you will see Gersthof, Prater (Vienna amusement park) and even Schönbrunn Palace (final scenes).

Klimt

The biographical movie was filmed in 2006 and tells about the life of the world-known Austrian painter Gustav Klimt. John Malkovich played the main role. In the movie you will see Vienna at the end of the 19th century. The life story of Klimt is presented in an unusual way in the series of different episodes from his life.

Woman in Gold

The movie is a drama based on a true story of Maria Altmann, the niece of Adele Bloch-Bauer who had a court dispute with the government of Austria over the famous painting of Gustav Klimt. The movie released in 2015 stars quite a number of well-known actors – Helen Mirren, Ryan Reynolds, Katie Holmes, Daniel Bruhl. When watching the movie you will see Vienna and its sights in numerous scenes since a big part of filming took place in Vienna.

Among filming locations are: Rathaus, the Academy of Fine Arts, Konzerthaus, State Opera House, Belvedere.

Mission Impossible scene filmed in ViennaOriginal scene from “Mission: Impossible Rogue Nation”

Mission: Impossible Rogue Nation

The movie released in 2015 is an American action film with Tom Cruise in the main role. Some big movie scenes were shot in Vienna and while watching the movie you will see many Vienna locations that you will recognize at once. Among them – Vienna State Opera, the view of the city at night, Stephansdom cathedral, Vienna U-Bahn (station Schottenring).

Vienna State Opera even hosted the world’s premiere of the movie! And Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra recorded the music for this movie. So many connections with Vienna – the movie is worth watching!

These few movies may shorten your evening or night on the weekend while the borders of most countries now are shut down. They will not only remind you of Vienna but they will definitely make you wish to visit Vienna as soon as it is possible in this new reality.

9 апреля 2020

Вот уже месяц, как мы живем в новой реальности. Сидим дома и фотографируем приход весны из окна. Как раз самое время вспомнить несколько фильмов, снятых в Вене, которые помогут скоротать долгие весенние вечера. Фильмы, рекомендованные нами, напомнят вам о нашем прекрасном городе. И многим из вас снова захочется приехать и насладиться Веной, когда карантин закончится.

Пратер, Вена, сцена из фильма Искры из глазСцена из фильма “Искры из глаз”

Джеймс Бонд – Искры из глаз

Фильм вышел в 1987 году и является пятнадцатым по счету фильмом об агенте британской разведки Джеймсе Бонде. В роли Джеймса Бонда – актер Тимоти Далтон. Вена – как одна из основных локаций, где снимались многие сцены из фильма.

Начало фильма – сцены из Братиславы, столица Словакии. На самом деле все братиславские эпизоды были сняты в Вене, в том числе в Volksoper (Народный оперный театр) и Sofiensäle. Кстати, эпизоды с Sofiensäle, снятые в 1986-1987 годах, имеют определенную историческую ценность. Поскольку в 2001 году здание Sofiensäle сгорело. Конечно, оно было восстановлено, но кадры из фильма показывают Sofiensäle в первозданном виде.

В фильме вы также увидите район Вены Gersthof, Пратер (парк развлечений в Вене) и даже дворец Шёнбрунн (финальные сцены).

Климт

Биографический фильм был снят в 2006 году и рассказывает о жизни всемирно известного австрийского художника Густава Климта. В главной роли -Джон Малкович. В фильме вы увидите Вену конца 19 века. История жизни Климта представлена достаточно необычным образом – это набор разных эпизодов из его жизни.

Женщина в золотом

Фильм – драма, основанная на реальной истории Марии Альтманн, племянницы Адель Блох-Бауэр, которая вела судебный спор с правительством Австрии по поводу знаменитой картины Густава Климта. В фильме, который вышел на экраны в 2015 году, снималось немало известных актеров – Хелен Миррен, Райан Рейнольдс, Кэти Холмс, Даниэль Брюль. В фильме вы увидите Вену и ее достопримечательности в многочисленных сценах, поскольку большая часть съемок проходила в Вене.

Среди съемочных площадок: Городская Ратуша, Академия Искусств, Концертный зал, Венская государственная опера, Бельведер.

Венская опера в Миссия невыполнима 5Сцена из фильма “Миссия невыполнима: племя изгоев”

Миссия невыполнима: племя изгоев

Американский триллер с Томом Крузом в главной роли, вышел на экраны в 2015 году. В Вене были сняты многие важные сцены фильма, которые вы сразу же узнаете при просмотре. Среди них – Венская государственная опера, вид на старый город ночью, собор Святого Стефана, станции метро (станция Schottenring).

В Венской государственной опере состоялась мировая премьера фильма! А оркестр Венской филармонии записал музыку для этого фильма. Столько моментов, связанных с Веной – этот фильм стоит посмотреть!

Рекомендованные нами фильмы помогут вам приятно провести вечер или выходные за просмотром, в то время как границы большинства стран мира в настоящее время закрыты. Вас определенно охватит ностальгия по Вене и желание посетить наш замечательный город как можно скорее!